Wander with Purpose by Toms

Several weeks back, this came in the mail.

IMG_6336ablog

And I love it. For it’s simple design, ability to excite, and all-around great aesthetic.

IMG_6337ablog

While I for a long time thought that the staple Toms shoe design was downright ugly, I love the mission. Buy a shoe, give a shoe. I love when business and charity mix; because feeling good about one’s own accomplishments goes so much further than receiving a free meal from some person in a far off country, the microfinance charity model. And the new shoe lines are definitely more appealing, more my speed. Playa sandals and platform wedges in traditional African textiles are oh so cool.

 IMG_6338ablog

But beyond shoes, have a look at these pages. Don’t they make you want to go somewhere far away?

IMG_6339ablog

Wander with purpose, oh how I love that idea. To wander with meaning, and to not be lost in the search for the unknown. For years, I’ve felt that my purposeful wanderings around Western Europe and Northern Africa have been downplayed and frowned upon, all the more upon my reentrance into America. But I miss them and the freedom that they allowed. I can’t wait to return to them. Where have your purposeful wanderings taken you?

 IMG_6340ablog

It reminds me of this poem, which I love, by J.R.R. Tolkien in The Fellowship of the Ring. It goes,

All that is gold does not glitter,

Not all those who wander are lost;

The old that is strong does not wither,

Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,

A light from the shadows shall spring;

Renewed shall be blade that was broken,

The crownless again shall be king.

IMG_6342ablog

And its truthful beauty makes me smile.

IMG_6341ablog

Leave a Reply

