Berry and Tarragon Pavlova Illustration

 

IMG_6760awebLife is moving at a faster pace and my illustration work is in turn being produced at a bit slower of a rate these days. So I will post something old, but all the same it is an illustration that I like very much.

IMG_6761awebBerries and fresh herbs seem like the perfect topping to an elegant meringue pavlova. I liked how the colors came out on this piece and is one that I have hanging in my kitchen. An inspiration for creating moments of baking euphoria.

AP_CygneWikipedia tells me that the pavlova is a relatively new confectionery treat, concocted at the turn of the 20th century out of a kitchen in Wellington, New Zealand. It was designed for the visiting Russian ballerina, Anna Pavlova, who as a part of the Imperial Russian Ballet, was one of the first ballerinas to tour ballet all over the world.

Lavery_anna_pavlovaWhile its history may be more folklore than fact, I love the idea that the pavlova’s delicacy and frothy egg component is analogous to ballet. Bon appétit!

IMG_6821aweb

Leave a Reply

