The Tattoo Question

IMG_3479aweb Whether 13, 28 or 52, I think it’s safe to say that tattoos crossed our minds at least once no matter how rebellious or obedient we considered ourselves to be at the time. I’ll admit, I’ve been fantasizing about one for the past several months.

IMG_3562aweb

So after a week long stay in my apartment battling between fits of consciousness and unconsciousness, I woke up and found myself in March and in need of some serious art time therapy. (What they don’t tell you too readily about living in a warm climate country is that you can get sick, very sick, even if you take into account all matters of prevention and precaution.) While certainly feeling much better after having gotten the appropriate medical attention and treatment, sitting up anywhere off of my bed is not an immediate possibility. So I grabbed my closest art pen and started to doodle while sitting here. And the closest canvas? My wrist. The result? A girly little floral spread. And I really am enjoying looking down at it when I’m typing, ogling over my new, very temporary tattoo.

IMG_3558awebIMG_3512aweb

So I’d say that it’s safe to say that I’ve flirted with the idea of getting a tattoo right on the very spot where I’ve drawn one. And I’ve seen quite a few designs out there that I love. They look great on these women: tasteful and not over done, reserved but just a bit edgy, flirtatious and not trashy.

Tattoo_arm

dennis_presley_025

best-flower-arm-sleeve-tattooAnd this goes without saying, the only tattoo catching my eyes is a well-drawn and well-thought out design, not some hasty cartoon or icon of the moment. Something that reads, yes, I’m not afraid to take that chance, but that doesn’t mean that I’m a rebel. I’m artistic and responsible at the same time.

IMG_3465aweb

IMG_3550aweb

But when to go beyond temporary to permanent? As much as I love my little African floral design now, what will that look like in 5 years? And 40 years from now? Will it have the potential to hinder my career growth? Rifle Paper Co. and Tattly make these chic little temporary designs. Although I love them on my wall and in my mail box, I’d be less apt to wear them.

 tattly_rifle_paper_co_floral_heart_web_applied_03_largeTemporary_Gold_Tattoos_3

I’d like to know from all of you strict non-tattoo wearers, tattoo feigns and probably the majority of you out there somewhere in the middle. Would you get a tattoo? Where on your body did you place the one you have now? Have other peoples’ judgments towards you changed with a tattoo? What goes too far, not far enough?

IMG_3503aweb

2 thoughts on “The Tattoo Question

  1. There are a lot of pros and cons for tattoos these days but the most important and obvious one is this, they are PERMANENT!
    Yes I’m more in the later age range you speak of and I know you can have them removed for a cost but my initial reaction is why put them there in the first place?
    I come from the generation that remembers old veterans who regretted the lapse of sense or drunken stupor that caused them to get a tattoo, but in those days they were considered somewhat low class and would even effect your chance of employment!
    These days tattoos are more accepted and you see “decent” people everywhere employed in good jobs with tattoos.
    Our daughter who is now age 26 did not have a stigma against them and as soon as her 18th birthday came around she went and got a tattoo in an easy to cover area, she never regretted it and has a non-conservative kind of job. She’s still the same person though she has grown to be less rash in her life decisions.
    In the long run I think you should decide for yourself and if you get flak from your older family and friends remember WHY we’re adverse to tattoos, that doesn’t mean you have to be.

    • Ponder, thanks so much for your well-thought out response! Tattoos are permanent, why it’s important to really think it over before getting one. It seems thought that the social stigma, at least among the 20-30 year old generation and even above, is not as harsh as it was in the past and that it is not even a professional faux pas anymore. What field is your daughter working in again?

Leave a Reply

