Chamonix Mont Blanc

IMG_5527aweb

The Alps are always a good idea, even if you don’t ski.

IMG_5710awebLately my feet haven’t rested too long on the same ground before I’ve ended up somewhere else. Bouncing around the globe sure does have its merits, but it has its sacrifices too. I’m finally catching up with all of my photos now and I thought I’d share these ones from the picturesque town of Chamonix Mont Blanc in the heart of the French Alps.

IMG_5789awebIMG_5743aweb

I visited in April, and only a little more than half a day at that, dommage! But it was on my bucket list and I was in the south where I had been living for a number of years. How was it that I never took the time to explore the Savoy region in more earnest before?

IMG_5539awebChamonix quite literally took my breath away. Perhaps riding to the top of Europe’s highest peak after only one week of being declared malaria free wasn’t the best of ideas when oxygen intake already comes at a higher price. But I wouldn’t have had it any other way. A bit on the pricier side, I was glad that I took the Chamonix day pass lift for about 60€.

IMG_5596awebIMG_5771aweb

Riding up to Aiguille Midi gave me absolute mountain fever and I promptly watched the Sound of Music afterwards. I was able to take the little red train up the side along the Montenvers-Mer de Glace route, but unfortunately didn’t have any more time to explore the ice caves. It was a surreal and exhilarating experience being up there, that much more I imagine if I had actually climbed it.

IMG_5582awebThe pine scented crisp mountain air was just the thing I needed though. After my descent and taking a leisurely stroll through the international yet not overly oppressive touristy town of Chamonix, try Megève if you’re looking for something a bit farther away from the tourists, I dined.

IMG_5799aweb IMG_5753aweb

And boy, oh, boy, did I eat well. Having lived in a small French town across from Geneva several years back, I knew that I absolutely had to have Savoie food again. Le Monchu did the trick too, with a fixed menu course of homemade pumpkin soup dribbled with curry cream, an oh so cheesy tartiflette with ham, and finished off with a blueberry crêpe and glass of red wine. I could eat that dinner all over again. The only thing I wish I had done differently was stay one week longer!

IMG_5557aweb

Leave a Reply

